MAD – Moroccan Dirham

Dirham is the currency of Morocco Currency code of Dirham is MAD.You can easily convert here any currency at Merchant Stronghold.

Overview Moroccan Dirham Currency
The Moroccan Dirham originated in the Byzantine Empire’s drachm and was used in Arabia and the Levant during the pre-Islamic era.

Before the introduction of modern coinage in 1882, Morocco issued copper coins denominated in falus, silver coins denominated in dirham, and gold coins denominated in benduqi.

In 1882, the Dirham became a part of the Moroccan Rial, with 50 Mazunas = 10 Dirham = 1 Rial.

When Morocco became a French state in 1921, it switched to the Moroccan Franc currency.

The Dirham was re-introduced in 1960. It replaced the Moroccan Franc as the major unit of currency but, until 1974, the Franc continued to circulate, with 1 Dirham = 100 Francs.

In 1977, a new design of banknotes was issued and the National bank took over the printing of banknotes.

Moroccan Dirham Symbol: د.إ
Moroccan Dirham Currency Code: MAD
Date of issued:1987
Authority: Bank Al-Maghrib
Coin Denominations: 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 santimat and 1 dirham
Banknotes Denominations: 20, 50, 100 & 200 dirhams


Currency Facts

MAD Stats

Name: Moroccan Dirham

Minor Unit:
1/100 = Santim

Top MAD Conversion:

Top MAD Chart:

MAD Profile

Inflation: 1.80%

Freq Used: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50
Rarely Used: 5

Freq Used: 20, 50, 100, 200

Central Bank:
Bank Al-Maghrib

Users: Morocco, Western Sahara